Matt groening wins wga award


If you do not know who Matt Groening is, you sure know what he created: a little television show called The Simpsons. The show has been on TV for more than 20 years now and it has become the longest-running scripted show in television history. With its subversive humor and delightful wit, the series has made an indelible imprint on American pop culture, and the family members have become television icons.

No wonder Matt Groening has been selected as the winner of the animation writing award from the Writers Guild of America West’s Animation Writers Caucus.

The caucus will present the kudo to Groening next Wednesday at WGA West headquarters with guild president Christopher Keyser set to attend. This award is given to those who “advanced the literature of animation in film and/or television through the years and who has made outstanding contributions to the profession of the animation writer.” Matt Groening most certainly deserves it!

Obviously, that is not the only prize The Simpsons received. In 2006, writers Al Jean and Mike Reiss were tapped for the Animation Writer Caucus Animation Award. Two years ago, long-time writer Mike Scully received the caucus award.  The Simpsons have been nominated recently for three Emmy Awards and it has actually won 27 Emmy Awards, 29 Annie Awards, five Genesis Awards, nine International Monitor Awards and seven Environmental Media Awards. Since 2003, the TV show has won nine WGA Awards.

Groening also received a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame earlier this year, in conjunction with the airing of the 500th episode of the show on Fox

About Redazione Film4Life 5696 Articoli
Film 4 Life è una web magazine costituita da una redazione giovane e dinamica che si occupa di promozione, diffusione e comunicazione del cinema.
Contact: Facebook